

Distr.: General 19 February 2013

English only

Human Rights Council

Twenty-second session
Agenda item 3
Promotion and protection of all human rights, civil,
political, economic, social and cultural rights,
including the right to development

Written statement* submitted by the Asian Legal Resource Centre, a non-governmental organization in general consultative status

The Secretary-General has received the following written statement which is circulated in accordance with Economic and Social Council resolution 1996/31.

[11 February 2013]

Please recycle

^{*} This written statement is issued, unedited, in the language(s) received from the submitting non-governmental organization(s).

Sri Lanka: The absence of action regarding complaints of torture and ill-treatment

The ALRC and its sister organisation the Asian Human Rights Commission (AHRC) has submitted to the government of Sri Lanka in 2012 a total of 46 complaints relating to torture and ill-treatment. All these cases related to serious assaults on persons after arrest and during the period of detention at police stations. The victims in these cases and the date of the incidents are listed below:

- 1. Mr. Narahenpita Gamage Sisil Weerasinghe-(48) Wattala Police 30 December 2011
- 2. Mr. Muttiah Chandra Mohan (36) Teldeniya Police 6 April 2008
- 3. Mr. L. M. Jagath Kumara (22) Thalathuoya Police Station 10 February
- 4. Ms. Chandramohan Denusha Ambakotte Tamil Vidyalaya January 2012
- 5. Mr. Soriyamoorthy Givoshan (25) Katugastota Police Station 18 September 2009
- 6. Mr. Ramesh Kumar (29) Terrorist Investigation Department (TID) 9 August 2008
- 7. Mr. Mohamad Rasul (11) Palanguthura Al-Fala School 19 January
- 8. Mr. Kanahipadi Kankanamge Nalin (29) Dodangoda Police Station 20 November 2011
- Mr. Ramasamy Prabakaran Sri Lanka Police/Intelligence Services 11 February, 2012
- 10. M. Nishantha Fernando Jayawardena Panadura police 4 June, 2010
- 11. Mr. Santhan Stanys Ramesh (33) Kandy Terrorist Investigation Division (TID) 30 July 2011
- 12. Mr. A Navajeevan (27) Kandy Terrorist Investigation Division (TID) Kandy 9 August, 2008
- 13. Ms. Madurasinghe Arachchilage Chandrani Madurasinghe (42) Chairman Udubaddawa Pradesheeya Saba 20 January
- 14. Mr. JP Samson Kulatunga (62) Marawila Police 9 February, 2012
- 15. Mr. R D Wickramasinghe Criminal Investigation Department 26 June 2006
- 16. Mr. Surendra Rajan (30) Terrorist Investigation Division (TID) 26 August, 2009
- Mr. Thankshanamoorthy Selvakumar (24)-Kandy Terrorist Investigation Division (TID) - 16 August 2008
- 18. Mr. Chandrasiri Dasanayaka Wadduwa Police 15 April 2012
- 19. Mr. N A Aruna Roshantha (42) Chilaw Police 24 March 2012
- 20. Mr. WA Pramal Meheran (29) Thambuththegama Police Station 3 July 2012
- 21. Mr. R M Chamara (17) Pallama Police Station July 4, 2012
- Mr. Yapa Mudiyanselage Chaminda Priyashantha (35) Vanathavilluwa Police Station 5 July 2012
- 23. Name withheld Kothmale Police Station 6 July 2012
- 24. Shantha Wijesuriya 9 July 2012

- Mr. Mihindukulasuriya Anthony Vinisious Fernando (34) Negombo Police Station 9 August 2012
- 26. Mr. Dadallage Ajith Kusumsiri (38) Angunapalassa Police Station 13 August 2012
- Mr. Don Prasanna Dilrukshana Aquinas Mallawaarachchi (22) Pamunugama Police Station - 13 August 2012
- 28. Mr. Alexander Thayaparan (49) August 15, 2012
- 29. Ms. K K Neesha Chaturangi (17) August 15, 2012
- 30. Mr. Mahalingam Sasikumar (34) August 17, 2012
- 31. Mr. Dilshan Suran Janz (27) Negambo Police Station August 21, 2012
- 32. Mr. Sivapalan Pradeepan (28) 28 August 2012
- 33. Mr. G R Sampath Prasanna Piyadasa (37) Rattota Police Station August 29, 2012
- 34. Mr. Sundaram Sathies Kumar (34) August 29, 2012
- Mr. Gallalagama Arachchige Thilanka Niroshan Gamaarachchi (27) Bandaragama Police Station. - August 30, 2012
- Mr. Abasinghegedara Mahesh Niroshan Palamakumbura (19) Bandaragama Police Station - August 30, 2012
- Mr. Randunu Pathiranalage Susil Priyankara Seneviratne (27) Thambuththegama Police Station - 31 August 2012
- 38. Mr. D P Anil Thushara (34) Thambuththegama Police Station August 31, 2012
- Ms. Warnakulasuriya Tresa Dorin Marcus (45) Pamunugama Police Station 4 September 2012
- Mr. Koggala Marakkalage Thushara Samanthilake (37) Hungama Police Station 11 September 2012
- 41. Mr. Thangaraja Ramesh Kumar (32) 12 September 2012
- 42. Mr. Gunasundaram Jeyasundaram (57) 2 November 2012
- Ms. Muddara Pedilage Suneetha Sandamali Saliya Wewa Police Station 15 November 2012
- 44. Mr. T.A Erantha Srinath (27) Giriulla Police Station November 20, 2012
- Mr. Porawakara Arachchilage Pramesh (34) Thambuththegama Police Station 21 November 2012
- 46. Mr. RHMPB Udangamuwa (27) Peradeniya Police Station 12 December 2012

The ALRC is not aware of any investigation into any of these cases under the CAT Act, No. 22 of 1994 which makes torture and ill-treatment a crime punishable by 7 years of rigorous imprisonment and a fine of Rs. 10,000/=. The ALRC is concerned that those investigations under the CAT Act, No. 22 of 1994 are no longer conducted and that no prosecutions have been filed under this Act during 2012. In fact, the prosecutions under this Act seem to have stopped from around 2009 or so. While the complaints relating to torture are increasing the investigations and prosecution into the cases under the relevant law, that is Act, No. 22 of 1994 has stopped.

The Committee Against Torture (CAT) in its recommendations in 2011 pointed out the practice of impunity relating to torture and ill-treatment that prevails in Sri Lanka. This practice of impunity has continued throughout 2012 and there does not seem to be any determination to implement the recommendations of the CAT Committee in Sri Lanka.

Today, in Sri Lanka there are no possibilities, for victims of torture to complain, expect an investigation that leads into a prosecution of perpetrators of torture.

4